Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

News & Features

The Indie Book Awards 2020 have been announced in extraordinary times, without the sense of ceremony that these amazing books deserve. Let’s all support Australian writers, and the Australian Independent Booksellers who have chosen these books to be the best of the best. Your local bookseller would love to help you get these brilliant reads into your hands right now!

Australian independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, are thrilled to announce their Longlist for the Indie Book Awards 2019!

Michelle de Kretser has won the 2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award for her novel THE LIFE TO COME, published by Allen & Unwin.

The Miles Franklin literary Award 2018 Shortlist has been announced

The Miles Franklin 2018 shortlist will be announced on 17 June in Canberra, while the winner will be declared on 26 August in Melbourne, Australia.

Australian Book Industry Awards 2018 Winners! Announced May 3rd at Sydney international Convention Centre

Alexis Wright wins 2018 Stella Prize for Tracker

Congratulations to all booksellers and publishers who were presented with the LEB Conference 2018 Awards on Monday, 26th March in Hobart.

Australian Independent Booksellers are thrilled to announce Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend (Hachette Australia) as their favourite Australian book from last year and the winner of The Indie Book Awards 2018 Book of the Year. This is the first time a children’s book has won the overall award, made even extra special given 2018 marks the tenth year of the awards.

Stella is delighted to announce the 2018 Stella Prize shortlist of extraordinary books by Australian women.

In a year when women’s voices are demanding to be heard, the 2018 Stella Prize shortlist showcases the power and diversity of writing by women in Australia. The determination required to create change, and the political necessity of telling our own stories, shines through in the fiction and nonfiction of this year’s list. The prominence of books by smaller independent publishers speaks to the vibrancy of Australian publishing, and the shortlist as a whole is a testament to the potency of women’s writing in Australia today.

PRH Literary Prize winner announced 9 Feb 2018

Australian independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, are thrilled to announce their Shortlist for the Indie Book Awards 2018, for the best Australian books published in 2017!

The Category Winners and the Overall ‘Book of the Year’ Winner will be announced on Monday 26 March, 2018 at the Leading Edge Books Annual Conference Awards Dinner to be held in Hobart, TAS.

Australian independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, are thrilled to announce their Longlist for the Indie Book Awards 2018!

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders is named winner of the 2017 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. Lincoln in the Bardo is the first full-length novel from George Saunders, internationally renowned short story writer.

Josephine Wilson’s Extinctions wins 2017 Miles Franklin Literary Award

Make a date with a book.

Thursday September 14 2017

Pick up a book and read for just one hour on your own or with your children.

Indigenous Literacy Day is a national celebration of Indigenous culture, stories, language and literacy. Through activities on the day, the ILF focus their attention on the disadvantages experienced in remote communities and encourage the rest of Australia to raise funds and advocate for more equal access to literacy resources for remote communities.

Penguin Random House Australia announces the establishment of the inaugural Penguin Random House Australia Literary Prize.