Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller


Tonight, Wednesday 25 March, at a special event in Sydney's CBD, the Indie Book Awards Category Winners and the Indie Book of the Year were announced.

2015 Indie Book Awards Category winners are:

Indie Book of the Year Fiction winner:
Golden Boys by Sonya Hartnett (Penguin Random House Australia)

Indie Book of the Year Non-Fiction winner:
The Bush by Don Watson (Penguin Random House Australia)

Indie Book of the Year Children's & YA winner:
Withering-by-Sea by Judith Rossell (ABC Books, HarperCollins Publishers Australia)

Indie Book of the Year Debut Fiction winner:
Foreign Soil by Maxine Beneba Clarke (Hachette Australia)

And the 2015 Indie Book Award overall winner therefore the Indie Book of the Year is: 
The Bush: Travels in the Heart of Australia by Don Watson (Penguin Random House Australia).

Don Watson says:
'I am delighted.  How could I not be? Like every other writer in Australia, I regularly give thanks for our independent booksellers, and I would go down on my knees to do so if I thought it would help them to thrive.  Writers and readers and publishers, suburbs, towns and communities, from toddlers to old age pensioners the whole country is blessed by them.  They have fought off the monopolising tendencies of capitalism, the Internet, mobile phones, and ipads; they have defied the general trend to instant gratification, fads, fashion and ignorance itself.  In little shops all over the continent they keep the book - and many hearts and minds - alive. I can imagine no greater honour for an Australian writer than these Indie awards they have bestowed on The Bush. So I thank them - even more deeply this week than last'

Don Watson will be interviewed about his win and his work on ABC Radio National Arts and Books daily on Tuesday 31 March at 10am.

Don Watson is available for interview. Please contact Rhian Davies at Penguin Books on 03 9811 2509.

Previous winners 
Melbourne-based Don Watson is the seventh overall winner of the prestigious Indie Book Awards Book of the Year.

Presented annually since 2008, the previous Overall Winners of the Indie Book Awards are Breath by Tim Winton (Penguin, 2008), Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey (Allen & Unwin, 2009), The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do (Allen & Unwin, 2010/2011),  All That I Am by Anna Funder (Penguin, 2012) The Light between Oceans by M. L. Stedman (Random House, 2013) and The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan (Random House, 2014).

Selection and judging process
Every December the 170+ independent Australian booksellers that make up Leading Edge Books take stock of the year in books and nominate their favourite Australian titles for the Indie Book Awardsshortlist. The shortlist falls into four categories - fiction, non-fiction, debut fiction and children's and YA books.

Judges from the Leading Edge group of booksellers select the Indie Book Award winner of each category and the Indie Book Awards overall winner is voted on by the Leading Edge group as a whole.

For further details
Don Watson is available for interview. Please contact Rhian Davies at Penguin Books on 03 9811 2509.

For further information regarding the Leading Edge Book Group please contact Galina Marinov on 02 8732 9569.

For any further publicity enquiries about the Indie Book Awards please contact Jaki Arthur at JAM PR on or 0403 901 252

The Indie Book Awards 2015 would like to gratefully acknowledge the official Supporters of the Indie Book Awards 2015 campaign: Bloomsbury Australia, Hachette Australia, Allen & Unwin and Books+Publishing.