Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller




Bill Clegg, Anne Enright, Marlon James, Laila Lalami, Tom McCarthy, Chigozie Obioma, Andrew O'Hagan, Marilynne Robinson, Anuradha Roy, Sunjeev Sahota, Anna Smaill, Anne Tyler and Hanya Yanagihara are this year's Man Booker "Dozen", longlisted for the £50,000 prize.

There are five US authors on the longlist, with three British writers and one each from Ireland, New Zealand, India, Nigeria and Jamaica; four books published by independent publishers; and three debut writers. Jonathan Cape has three books on the list, with Picador following with two books.

This is the second year the £50,000 prize has been open to any writer, writing originally in English and published in the UK, irrespective of nationality.

The 2015 Man Booker Prize shortlist will be announced on 15th September, and the winner on 13th October at a ceremony at London’s Guildhall. Joining Wood on the judging panel this year are critic, broadcaster and editor Ellah Allfrey, novelist John Burnside, the Spectator’s literary editor Sam Leith, and author Frances Osborne.

Each of the shortlisted authors will receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book.