Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

The Children's Book Council of Australia - AWARD WINNERS ANNOUNCED

The Children’s Book Council of Australia


The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) celebrates Australian children’s literature and its creators, and seeks to engage the community with literature for young Australians. Each year the CBCA run the Book of the Year Awards, and supports the Children’s Book Week – the longest running children’s festival in Australia. Here is this year’s list of CBCA Winners and Honour Books in each category:

Older Readers


The Protected Claire Zorn (University of Queensland Press)

Honour books

Nona & Me Clare Atkins (Black Inc.)

The Minnow Diana Sweeney (Text)

Younger Readers


The Cleo Stories: The Necklace and The Present Libby Gleeson, illus by Freya Blackwood (Allen & Unwin)

Honour books 

Two Wolves Tristan Bancks (Random House)

Withering-by-Sea: A Stella Montgomery Intrigue Judith Rossell (ABC Books) 

Early Childhood


Go to Sleep, Jessie! Libby Gleeson, illus by Freya Blackwood (Little Hare)

Honour books 

Scary Night Lesley Gibbes, illus by Stephen Michael King (Working Title Press)

Noni the Pony Goes to the Beach Alison Lester (Allen & Unwin)

Picture Book of the Year


My Two Blankets Irena Kobald, illus by Freya Blackwood (Little Hare)

Honour books

One Minute’s Silence David Metzenthen, illus by Michael Camilleri, (Allen &Unwin)

The Stone Lion Margaret Wild, illus by Ritva Voutila, (Little Hare)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books


A-Z of Convicts in Van Diemen’s Land Simon Barnard (Text)

Honour books

Tea and Sugar Christmas Jane Jolly, Illus by Robert Ingpen (National Library of Australia)

Audacity: Stories of Heroic Australians in Wartime Carlie Walker (Department of Veterans’ Affairs).

 Crichton Award for New Illustrators

One Minute’s Silence Michael Camilleri, text by David Metzenthen, (Allen & Unwin)