Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

ABIA Award 2016 Winners Announced

The 2016 ABIA Awards were held in Sydney last night. The awards celebrate the connection between Australian readers and the ‘book makers’ – authors, editors, publishing professionals and retailers, who unite to create the must-read books of the year.
Congratulations to all the winners.
Book of the Year 2016:
Reckoning: A Memoir ( Magda Szubanski, Text Publishing)
Biography Book of the Year:
Reckoning: A Memoir (Magda Szubanski, Text Publishing )
General Fiction Book of the Year:
The Patterson Girls ( Rachael Johns, MIRA, Harlequin Books)
General Non-fiction Book of the Year:
Island Home ( Tim Winton, Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Books Australia)
Illustrated Book of the Year:
The Happy Cookbook ( Lola Berry, Plum, Pan Macmillan Australia)
International Book of the Year:
Gut: the inside story of our body’s most under-rated organ (Giulia Enders,Scribe Publications)
Literary Fiction Book of the Year:
The Other Side of the World (Stephanie Bishop, Hachette, Hachette Australia Books)
Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year:
Salt Creek (Lucy Treloar, Picador Australia, Pan Macmillan)
Book of the Year Older Children (age range 8 to 14 years):
Illuminae (Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, Allen & Unwin, Allen & Unwin Books)
Book of the Year for Younger Children (age range 0 to 8 years):
The 65-Storey Treehouse ( Andy Griffiths, illustrated by Terry Denton, Pan Australia, Pan Macmillan)
Small Publishers’ Children’s Book of the Year:
The Underwater Fancy-Dress Parade (Davina Bell, illustrated by Allison Colpoys, Scribble, Scribe Publications)
Small Publishers’ Adult Book of the Year:
All Fall Down (Matthew Condon, UQP, University of Queensland Press)
Lloyd O’Neil Award: Brian Johns
Pixie O’Harris Award: Jackie French
2016 Independent Book Retailer of the Year: Readings
2016 Book Industry Innovation Award: Quirky Kid
2016 National Book Retailer of the Year:
Join winners: Dymocks Books and Booktopia
2016 Publisher of the Year: Allen & Unwin
2016 Small Publisher of the Year: NewSouth