Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

Growing Up in Flames

Growing Up in Flames

by Zach Jones

This contemporary YA novel is perfect for fans of Mark Smith and Vikki Wakefield, and tackles grief, belonging and mental illness.

Format
Paperback
Category
Children
Publisher
Penguin Random House Australia Pty Ltd
Publish Date
March 2022

I've heard of Noah the way you hear about car accidents. A series of whispers, theories and rumours... Kenna's mother Ava was killed in a bushfire not long ago. Now Kenna's living with her uncle and his young family in the small town where Ava grew up, and she feels like an intruder. Noah's mother has a mental illness that makes him both carer and jailer-constantly watchful, keeping things on an even keel. One night Kenna sees the general store on fire, and a boy standing watching as it burns. It takes her a while to notice he's holding a petrol can, but then things move fast. She's tackled him and run off with his bag before she even knows what's happened. The bag belongs to Noah, and he really wants it back. Kenna wants something too. To make someone else burn the way her mum did. And there's something she doesn't know- how Noah can help her find out the truth about her family.

Other titles you should consider ...

The Amazing Night Sky Atlas

Lonely Planet Kids

Mim and the Anxious Artist

Katrina Nannestad & Cheryl Orsini (Illus)

How Do You Say I Love You?

Ashleigh Barton & Martina Heiduczek (Illus)

Not all products are available in all stores.