Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

Cane

Cane

by Maryrose Cuskelly

Nail-biting, atmospheric, and unputdownable, the brilliant new thriller for fans of Wimmera and The Dry.

Format
PB
Category
Fiction
Publisher
Allen & Unwin
Publish Date
January 2022

ONE MISSING GIRL. NO SUSPECTS. A TOWN ABOUT TO IGNITE. Quala, a North Queensland sugar town, the 1970s. Barbara McClymont walks the cane fields searching for Janet, her sixteen-year-old daughter, who has been missing for weeks. The police have no leads. The people of Quala are divided by dread and distrust. But the sugar crush is underway and the cane must be burned. Meanwhile, children dream of a malevolent presence, a schoolteacher yearns to escape, and history keeps returning to remind Quala that the past is always present. As the smoke rises and tensions come to a head, the dark heart of Quala will be revealed, affecting the lives of all those who dwell beyond the cane. The Cane is an evocative and atmospheric thriller, and announces an exciting new voice in Australian crime writing.

Other titles you should consider ...

Isaac and the Egg

Bobby Palmer

Girlcrush

Florence Given

After the Flood

Dave Warner

Not all products are available in all stores.