Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

The Natural History of Love

The Natural History of Love

by Caroline Petit

For fans of Elizabeth Gilbert's The Signature of All Things, The Dictionary of Lost Words, The Natural History of Love is based upon the true story of 19th century French explorer, naturalist and diplomat the Count de Castelnau and his lover Madame Fone eca; a sweeping historical narrative set in the wilds of Brazil, salons of Paris and the early days of Melbourne's settlement.

Format
Paperback
Category
Fiction
Publisher
Affirm Press
Publish Date
April 2022

Brazil, 1852: Fran ois, the Count de Castelnau and French Consul to Bahia falls dangerously ill on a naturalist expedition and is delivered by a Tupi Indian to the Fone eca household. Carolina Fone eca is 16 years old and longing to leave the confines of her family's remote Brazilian sugar plantation. With a head full of Balzac and dreams of Parisian life, she is instantly beguiled by the middle-aged Frenchman. What Carolina doesn't know is that Fran ois has a wife and son back in France. Desperate for a new life, she makes a decision that will haunt her forever.

Other titles you should consider ...

Red

Felicity McLean

The Dance Tree

Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Trust

Hernan Diaz

The Murder Rule

Dervla McTiernan

Not all products are available in all stores.