Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

This Is Why We Lied

This Is Why We Lied

by Karin Slaughter

The gripping new novel in the Will Trent crime thriller series from the bestselling author of AFTER THAT NIGHT, for fans of Michael Connelly, Lisa Gardner and Tess Gerritsen

Harper Collins
Publish Date
July 2024

Who killed Mercy McAlpine? The next thrilling suspense featuring Will Trent and Sara Linton from Karin Slaughter, no.1 bestselling author of Pieces of Her and After That Night

Everyone here is a liar, but only one of us is a killer...

Welcome to the McAlpine Lodge: a remote mountain getaway, it's the height of escapist luxury living.

Except that everyone here is lying. Lying about their past. Lying to their family. Lying to themselves.

Then one night, Mercy McAlpine - until now the good daughter - threatens to expose everybody's secrets. Just hours later, Mercy is dead.

In an area this remote, it's easy to get away with murder. But Will Trent and Sara Linton - investigator and medical examiner for the GBI - are here on their honeymoon.

And now, with the killer poised to strike again, the holiday of a lifetime becomes a race against the clock ...

Praise for Karin Slaughter:

'I'd follow her anywhere' Gillian Flynn

'Passion, intensity, and humanity' Lee Child

'A great writer at the peak of her powers' Peter James

'Irresistible' Daily Mail

'One of the best crime novelists in America' Washington Post

Other titles you should consider ...

The Black Bird Oracle

Deborah Harkness

Long Island Compromise

Taffy Brodesser-Akner

The Glassmaker

Tracy Chevalier

Not all products are available in all stores.