Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

Formula One

Formula One

by John Smailes

The first, and definitive, book on Australia and New Zealand's involvement in the pinnacle of motor sport - Formula One.

Allen & Unwin
Publish Date
November 2021

Since 1950, 15 Australians and nine New Zealanders have raced in Formula One. Three-Jack Brabham, Denny Hulme and Alan Jones-have won the world title. Brabham was the gold standard. He won three driver's titles, two constructors' championships and is the only person to win the world title in a car of his own design. Alan Jones' championship - our last - was forty-one years ago. At the beginning of the 2021 season, Australasians have won 54 races, stood on the podium exactly 200 times, claimed 41 pole positions and set 73 fastest laps. Between them they've scored 3215 world championship points. Two have died in the attempt without ever facing the world championship starter's lights. Now John Smailes, author of the bestselling Climbing the Mountain, Race Across the World, Mount Panorama and Speed Kings, gives us the full story of our involvement with Formula One, from the pioneer days in the aftermath of World War II, to Australia's current Formula One star, Daniel Ricciardo, looking towards potential champions of the future like Oliver Piastri. With over 150 stunning photographs, and interviews with drivers past and present, as well as the engineers, managers and team owners behind the scenes, this is the must-have book for every Australia and New Zealand fan of Formula One.

Other titles you should consider ...


Shaimaa Khalil


Tjok Maya Kerthyasa, I Wayan Kresna Yasa

Not all products are available in all stores.