Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

Lord of the Darkwood

Lord of the Darkwood

by Lian Hearn

In this magnificent new epic, destined to become a modern classic, bestselling Australian author Lian Hearn transports us to a mythical Japanese world set 300 years before Tales of the Otori.

Publish Date
August 2016

The rightful emperor is lost. Shikanoko is condemned to live half man and half deer, an outlaw in the Darkwood. Yet the mightly lords who now rule the Eight Islands are prey to suspicion and illness, and drought and famine overrun the realm.

Only Shikanoko can bring healing by restoring the preordained ruler to the Lotus Throne and only one person can bring him back from the Darkwood.

Against a background of wild forest, elegant castles and savage battlefields, Lian Hearn's Tale of Shikanoko series draws to its thrilling conclusion.

Lord Of The Darkwood is Books 3 and 4 in The Tale Of Shikanoko and follows Emperor Of The Eight Islands (Books 1 and 2 in the series).

Other titles you should consider ...


Felicity McLean

A Place Near Eden

Nell Pierce

The Dance Tree

Kiran Millwood Hargrave


Hernan Diaz

Not all products are available in all stores.