Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

The Mother-In-Law

The Mother-In-Law

by Sally Hepworth

"Hepworth turns up the tension in her latest Australian-set domestic suspense novel. A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, makes this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott" Booklist (starred review)

Format
Paperback
Category
Fiction
Publisher
Macmillan
Publish Date
January 2019

Someone once told me that you have two families in your life - the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don't choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all.

From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana is exquisitely polite, but Lucy knows, even after marrying Oliver, that they'll never have the closeness she'd been hoping for.

But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something...

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new page-turner about that trickiest of relationships.

Other titles you should consider ...

The Girl Who Lived Twice

David Lagercrantz

Tidelands

Philippa Gregory

The Second Sleep

Robert Harris

White Horses

Rachael Treasure

Not all products are available in all stores.