Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

The Tower of Fools

The Tower of Fools

by Andrzej Sapkowski

A brand-new historical fantasy from a legend of the genre. Fans of Bernard Cornwall, Conn Iggulden and Joe Abercrombie will love this.

Format
Paperback
Category
Fiction
Publisher
Hachette
Publish Date
October 2020

Reinmar of Bielawa, sometimes known as Reynevan, is a doctor, a magician and, according to some, a charlatan. Discovered in bed with the wife of a high-born knight, he must flee his normal life. But his journeys will lead him into a part of Europe which will be overtaken by chaos. Religious tension between Hussite and Catholic countries is threatening to turn into war. Pursued not only by the affronted Stercza brothers, bent on vengeance, but also by the Holy Inquisition, and with strange, mystical forces gathering in the shadows, Reynevan finds himself in the Narrenturm, the Tower of Fools. The Tower is an asylum for the mad, or for those who dare to think differently and challenge the prevailing order. The 'patients' of this institution form a gallery of colourful types including the young Copernicus, proclaiming the truth of his heliocentric solar system. But can Reynevan escape the Tower, and avoid being drawn in to the conflict around him, without losing his own mind?

Other titles you should consider ...

Dark Tides

Philippa Gregory

The Betrayals

Bridget Collins

The Law of Innocence

Michael Connelly

Olga

Bernhard Schlink

Not all products are available in all stores.