Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

The Paris Bookseller

The Paris Bookseller

by Kerri Maher

The captivating story of a trailblazing young woman who fought against incredible odds to bring one of the most important books of the twentieth century to the world. For readers of The Paris Library, The Age Of Light and The Paris Wife.

Format
PB
Category
Fiction
Publisher
Hachette Livre Australia
Publish Date
January 2022

PARIS, 1919. Young, bookish Sylvia Beach knows there is no greater city in the world than Paris. But when she opens an English language bookshop on the bohemian Left Bank, Sylvia can't yet know she is making history. Many leading writers of the day, from Ernest Hemingway to Gertrude Stein, consider Shakespeare and Company a second home. Here some of the most profound literary friendships blossom - and none more so than between James Joyce and Sylvia herself. When Joyce's controversial novel Ulysses is banned, Sylvia determines to publish it through Shakespeare and Company. But the success and notoriety of publishing the most infamous book of the century comes at deep personal cost as Sylvia risks ruin, reputation and her heart in the name of the life-changing power of books. . .

Other titles you should consider ...

Isaac and the Egg

Bobby Palmer

Girlcrush

Florence Given

After the Flood

Dave Warner

Not all products are available in all stores.